Filtering a List by SPD Workflow Status Column

I can’t believe I hadn’t attempted to do this earlier but last week I was setting up a sort of dashboard page for a SharePoint audit site and I found I wanted to display a list of the site’s In Progress workflows. I had set up a simple SPD workflow on a list, which acted as the source and storage for the workflow forms, so consequently it had the Workflow Name column to display the status. When I created an “In Progress” view on the list web part, I got a strange Render Error. It became clear that I could not filter the list where the Workflow Name column value = In Progress. So after some digging around I discovered that the SPD workflow statuses are actually represented by numerical values not text, so here are the mappings:

2: In Progress

5: Complete

15: Cancelled

So get filtering 😉

2 thoughts on “Filtering a List by SPD Workflow Status Column

Leave a comment